venerdì 22 settembre 2017

Recognising the SWAT4(HC)LS Programme Committee

Recognising our SWAT4(HC)LS 2017 Programme Committee

The work of programme committee is often hidden, but it is thanks to the people that participate in it that SWAT4LS can take place.
As the deadline for submissions for this year is approaching, we thought it was a good time to list and acknowledge once more all the people that have committed in reviewing the papers and the ultimately the program of our event.

  • Adrian Paschke, Freie Universität Berlin, DE
  • Alasdair Gray, Heriot-Watt University, UK
  • Albert Burger, Heriot-Watt University, UK
  • Alejandra Gonzalez-Beltran, University of Oxford, UK
  • Andra Waagmeester, Micelio, BE
  • Andrea Splendiani, Novartis Institutes for Biomedical Research, CH
  • Annette Ten Teije, VU University Amsterdam, NL
  • Atsuko Yamaguchi, Database Center for Life Science, JP
  • Christopher Baker, UNB Saint John, CA
  • Clement Jonquet, University of Montpellier - LIRMM, FR
  • David Booth, HP Software, US
  • Dean Allemang, Working Ontologist LLC, US
  • Dietrich Rebholz-Schuhmann, Insight Centre for Data Analytics, IE
  • Erick Antezana, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU),NO
  • Ernesto Jimenez-Ruiz, University of Oslo, NO
  • Francesco Strozzi Enterome, FR
  • Helena Deus, Elsevier, US
  • Hilmar Lapp, NESCent ordinary, US
  • Holger Stenzhorn, Chair of Methods in Medical Informatics at the University of Tübingen, DE
  • James Malone, FactBio Ltd, UK
  • Jerven Bolleman, Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics, CH
  • Jesualdo Tomás Fernández-Breis , Departamento de Informatica y Sistemas. Universidad del Murcia, ES
  • Jin-Dong, Database Center for Life Science, JP
  • Jonas Almeida, Stony Brook University (SUNY), US
  • Katy Wolstencroft, Leiden University, NL
  • Kenneth McLeod, Heriot-Watt University, UK
  • Kerstin Forsberg, AstraZeneca R&D, SE
  • Luca Toldo, SAP SE, DE
  • Marco Roos, Leiden University Medical Centre, NL
  • Martin Boeker, Medical Center - University of Freiburg, DE
  • Matthias Samwald, Medical University of Vienna, AT
  • Melanie Courtot, European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI), UK
  • Melissa Haendel, Oregon Health and Science University, US
  • M. Scott Marshall, Netherlands Cancer Institute, NL
  • Naouel Karam, Freie Universität Berlin, DE
  • Núria Queralt-Rosinach, The Scripps Research Institute, US
  • Olivier Bodenreider, US National Library of Medicine, US
  • Olivier Dameron, University of Rennes 1, FR
  • Paolo Romano, Ospedale Policlinico San Martino, IT
  • Paul Groth, Elsevier Labs, NL
  • Peter Robinson, The Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine,US
  • Phillip Lord, Newcastle University, UK
  • Raoul J.P. Bonnal, Fondazione INGM, IT
  • Ratnesh Sahay, Insight Centre for Data Analytics, IE
  • Robert Hoehndorf, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, SA
  • Robert Stevens, University of Manchester, UK
  • Simon Jupp, European Bioinformatics Institute, UK
  • Stefan Schulz, Medical University of Graz, AT
  • Toralf Kirsten, LIFE Research Center for Civilization Diseases, and Interdisciplinary Center for Bioinformatics, University of Leipzig, DE
  • Toshiaki Katayama, Database Center for Life Science, JP
  • Trish Whetzel, T2 Labs, US
  • Valentina Presutti CNR, IT
  • Vinay Chaudhri, Independent Researcher, US
  • Yasunori Yamamoto, Database Center for Life Science, JP
  • lunedì 18 settembre 2017

    Evolving our identity (SWAT4HCLS)

    SWAT4LS (Semantic Web Applications and Tools for Life Sciences) is 10 years old this year, and it has grown from a one day workshop, to a four day conference and hackathon.
    With the growth, also the focus of the conference extended: initially focused on bioinformatics, it is now embracing Life Sciences and Healthcare at large.
    To account for this, we are thinking about changing our name, possibly to SWAT4HCLS (Semantic Web Applications and Tools in Healthcare and Life Sciences).
    Any other suggestion? Please comment here (or send to